Washington County, Maine
Historic Sites Inventory


Data provided here was acquired by Old Sow Publishing through a grant from the Sunrise County Economic Council.

Please respect the indicated wishes of the owners & representatives of the sites regarding visitors and photography.

You can save the data (along with everything else except the graphic) on this page in simple text format by using your web browser's "Save As..." command. (Save As Text).


Washington County
Historical Site Communities

Addison
Alexander
Calais
Charlotte
Cherryfield
Columbia
Columbia Falls
Cutler
Danforth
Dennysville
East Machias
Eastport
Edmunds
Forest City
Harrington
Jonesport
Lubec
Machias
Machiasport
Marshfield
Milbridge
Northfield
Pembroke
Perry
Plantation No. Fourteen
Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Reservation
Princeton
Red Beach, Calais
Robbinston
Roque Bluffs
St. Stephen (New Brunswick, Canada)
Steuben
Wesley
Whiting
Whitneyville


Sunrise County Architecture: Significant Buildings of Washington County, Maine and New Brunswick, Canada, 2nd edition
Keywords: Architecture, History Resource, Publication

Description: A 122 page book (1996) (available for purchase from the publisher) describing architecture, historical societies, museums, and historic districts, as well as brief histories of the communities in Washington County.

Responsible Organization:
Sunrise Research Institute, PO Box 417, Machias, ME 04654

Top


Addison

Austin House, The
Keywords: Architecture

Description: (Circa 1842). Unusual Greek Revival cape; has an interesting geometric design ornamenting its porch and trim, and the columns of the porch emphasize the Greek Revival influence. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Addison


Top

Indian River Baptist Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Transitional Greek/Revival/Italianate style architecture (1853-1854). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Addison


Top

Mayhew Library
Keywords: Architecture

Description: As early as the 1870's there was some kind of library at Addison Point. The present Library was built in 1939 on the Herbert Ward lot after his home burned in the 1938 fire of Addison.
Location: Main St. next to Addison Point Building; has 2 cannons on front lawn. Addison
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 25
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Wednesday and Saturday - Could be opened if notified.
Hours Open: Wednesday 1-5 p.m. , Saturday 10 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Items for Sale: We have the history of the Mayhew Library on sale put out in 1992 to commemorate the Library's 100th year.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: A week's notice would be good.
Responsible Organization: Mayhew Library Association, P.O. Box 152, Addison, ME 04606; Phone: 483-6090


Top

Nash Island Light
Keywords: Site

Description: Originally constructed in 1838 as a 51-foot light tower on Little Nash Island, it was reconstructed in 1873, and then replaced in 1958 by an automatic light buoy. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Nash Island. Addison


Top


Alexander

Alexander Cemetery
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: Town cemetery with grave stones dating from the mid 1830's.
Location: North side of Airline Road. Alexander 04694
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year round except mud season
Hours Open: Day light Hours
Items for Sale: none

Advance Notice Required: The caretaker is an elected volunteer who works a paying job. He will help people when he can.
Responsible Organization: Town of Alexander, 216 Pokey Road, Alexander, ME 04694; Phone: 454-7476


Top

Alexander-Crawford Historical Society Archives
Keywords: Architecture, History Resource, Genealogy Resource

Description: Collection of information, historical and genealogical, for two towns and the area.
Location: 2.2 miles north of the Airline Road. 216 Pokey Road, Alexander 04694
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 3
Dates Open: by appointment
Items for Sale: Past issues of our newsletters.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: Alexander-Crawford Historical Society; Phone: 454-7476


Top


Calais

9 Calais Avenue
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture (circa 1840). [Source: In part or entirety from "Sunrise County Architecture" 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Calais 04619


Top

Barbour House, Elias
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick Federal architecture (1830). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 255 Main Street, Calais 04619


Top

Calais City Building
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick Romanesque Revival architecture (1901). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Calais 04619


Top

Calais Fire House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick Italianate architecture (1874). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Calais 04619


Top

Calais Free Library
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Built in 1892 of Brick in the Richardsonian Romanesque style of architecture. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Union St., Calais 04619


Top

Calais Main Street Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Seventeen buildings, three of which are listed separately. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Two blocks on the south side of Main Street (U.S. Route 1) facing the St. Croix River, and extending up Church, Sawyer, and North Streets. Main Street, Calais 04619


Top

Calais Residential Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Twenty four contributing resources, seven of which are listed separately. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the south side of Main Street (U.S. Route 1) and both sides of Calais Avenue. Main Street, Calais 04619


Top

Calais Temperance House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture (1835). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: At the corner of Calais Avenue and Temperance Street. 6 Calais Avenue, Calais 04619

Responsible Organization: St. Croix Masonic Association,


Top

Gilmore House, Alexander
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Gothic Revival. One of three "gingerbread" homes along Main Street and the St. Croix River. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main St. (U.S. Route 1 south), Calais


Top

Hamilton House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style architecture (circa 1870). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 78 South Street, Calais 04619


Top

Hill Building
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture (1847), with gambrel roof. Brick with denticulated cornice. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Corner of Main St. (U.S. Route 1) and North St., Calais 04619


Top

Hinckley Hill Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Eight contributing properties, five of which are listed separately. They are primarily frame residential buildings. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: At the eastern end of Main Street. Main Street (U.S. Route 1 south), Calais 04619


Top

Holmes Cottage Museum
Keywords: Architecture, Museum

Description: Cape Cod style house (circa 1805-1806), on the National Register of Historic Places. Museum consisting of a typical doctors home and office in the 1800s. [Source: In part or entirety from "Sunrise County Architecture" 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 245 Main Street, Calais 04619
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 20
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Monday through Friday, June 28 to Labor Day
Hours Open: 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Items for Sale: Historical Books on Calais, Maine area
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: St. Croix Historical Society, RFD 1, Box 93, Calais, ME 04619; Phone: 454-2604


Top

Holmes House, Dr. Job
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate Building (1850-1851). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 247 Main Street, Calais 04619


Top

Jellison House (The Stone House), Theodore
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Large Stone House (1825) of Greek Revival architecture, with six-over-six double sash windows, and cornices. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: River Road, U.S. Route 1, Calais 04619


Top

Kalish House, Joseph
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Formerly a Jewish synagogue, the only one ever to exist in Washington County. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 63 North Street, Calais 04619


Top

Milltown Methodist Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Gothic Revival architecture (1836). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: South Street, Calais 04619


Top

Newton House, Charles
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style (early 1870s). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 309 Main Street, Calais 04619


Top

Pike Milestones
Keywords: Markers, Site

Description: Twelve granite mileage markers along U.S. Route 1 between Robbinston and Calais, placed there (between 1860-1870) by James Shepard Pike, who had a summer home in Robbinston and a winter home in Calais. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the east side of U.S. Route 1, at one mile intervals between the Mansion House in Robbinston and the intersection of U.S. 1 and North Street in Calais. U.S. Route 1, Calais


Top

Sawyer House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture (1840). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 7 Calais Avenue, Calais 04619


Top

St. Anne Episcopal Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Gothic Style (1853), portraying the asymmetry of irregularity, typical of the Gothic period. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 23 Church St. 23 Church St., Calais 04619


Top

United Methodist Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Gothic Revival architecture (1834). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 231 Main Street, Calais 04619


Top

Washburn House, Charles F.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: House (1855) with Gothic decorations; one of three "gingerbread" homes along Main Street and the St. Croix River. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main Street (U.S. Route 1) South, Calais 04619


Top

Washburn House, George
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Carpenter Gothic house (1855). One of three "gingerbread" homes along Main Street and the St. Croix River. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 318 Main Street, Calais 04619


Top

Washington County Genealogical Society
Keywords: History Resource

Description: Newsletter Printed Bi-Monthly "Weirs and Wood."
Location: 5C Apple Orchard Lane, Calais 04619


Top

Whitlock Mill Light Station
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Built in 1909, 32-foot white light tower, built on a granite foundation, eight-sided lantern. The lightkeeper's house is now privately owned, but the light can be viewed from the roadside park. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: U.S. Route 1 South, Calais


Top


Charlotte

Charlotte Cattle Pound
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Circa 1860s log cattle pound. One of the few remaining animal pounds in Maine. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 1/4 mile east of Route 214 on Charlotte Road. Charlotte
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 50
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Open everyday
Hours Open: Daytime
Items for Sale: none
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: 7 days
Responsible Organization: Charlotte Historical Society, R.R. 1 Box 382, Charlotte, ME 04666; Phone: 454-8238


Top

Charlotte Historical Society Museum and Charlotte Town Hall
Keywords: Architecture, Museum, History Resource

Description: (Circa 1883-1889). The Museum and Historical Society utilize the second floor, with the Town Offices on the ground floor. Collections of Local Artifacts and historical documents. Town Government. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Just beyond Round Pond Road at Charlotte Town Hall--2nd floor. Rt. 214, Charlotte 04666
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Summer - Fall Wednesdays
Hours Open: 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Items for Sale: Items for sale by Historical Society
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: Charlotte Historical Society, R.R. 1 Box 382, Charlotte, ME 04666; Phone: 454-8238


Top

Fisher House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Constructed 1820-1830. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Rt. 214, Charlotte


Top


Cherryfield

Archibald-Adams House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal Style architecture (circa 1793-1795). On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety from "Sunrise County Architecture" 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the Narraguagus River. Cherryfield


Top

Campbell House, Colonel Samuel N.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Queen Anne Style architecture (1883). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the Hill North of Route 1. Cherryfield


Top

Campbell House, David W.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal and Italianate style, featuring a Cupola, with Palladian windows (1828). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main St., Cherryfield


Top

Campbell House, Frank
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Second Empire style (1875). Built by "one of the most imaginative small-town Maine architects," Charles A. Allen of Cherryfield. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Cherryfield


Top

Campbell House, General Alexander
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Victorian porch; illustrates both Federal and Victorian styles of architecture; Italianate bay windows (1790). General Campbell fought in the capture of Quebec in 1759, and served in the Revolutionary War. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the hill north of Route 1. Cherryfield


Top

Cherryfield Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Contains 55 houses/buildings of historic interest. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Campbell Hill (Rte 1) Main St. (Rte 193) River Road, Park St. and New Street. Self-guided tour; Brochure available at Museum, Town Office, and Public Library. Cherryfield 04622
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: At Least a week - We occassionally do a walking tour.
Responsible Organization: Cherryfield-Narraguagus Historical Society


Top

Cherryfield Public Library and Town Office (Cherryfield Academy)
Keywords: Architecture, History Resource, Genealogy Resource

Description: This building was the former Cherryfield Academy (1850s). The Town Office is in one end and Public Library at the other end. The library has a Local History/Genealogical Room. On National Register of Historic Sites.
Location: East Side of Main St. (Rte 193). Cherryfield 04622
Open to the Public?: Yes

Responsible Organization: Cherryfield Free Public Library Association, Main St. - R.R. 1 Box 3, Cherryfield, ME 04622


Top

Cherryfield-Narraguagus Historical Museum (Francis Patten Building)
Keywords: Architecture, Museum

Description: This building (1865) contains collection of artifacts of the mid 1800s-1900s; photographs of early Cherryfield, displays of local industries, maps, and Washington County. On National Register of Historic Places.
Location: Main St., Cherryfield 04622
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 15
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: July and August - Wednesdays and Friday
Hours Open: 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Items for Sale: Books, Notepaper, Maps of Cherryfield area.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: Cherryfield-Narraguagus Historical Society, P.O. Box 96, Cherryfield, ME 04622


Top

Cherryfield-Narraguagus Historical Society Genealogical Collection
Keywords: History Resource, Genealogy Resource

Description: History of Cherryfield and surrounding areas, including genealogies of early families and vital records.
Location: Park St. Home of Margery Brown. RR 1 Box 267, Cherryfield 04622
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 2
Dates Open: By Request
Items for Sale: Books, Notepaper, Maps of Cherryfield area
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: Several Days, as a rule.
Responsible Organization: Cherryfield-Narraguagus Historical Society,


Top

First Congregational Church of Cherryfield
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Victorian Style architecture (constructed 1882-1885), with rosette windows, and ornamental woodwork gables. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: River St., Cherryfield


Top

Nash House, William M.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Originally a Cape Cod, this home was remodeled as a Greek Revival "temple" house, then reconstructed as a 2.5 story Queen Anne/Mansard/High Victorian transitional style building, with two pavilions, porch, tower, and balcony. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Cherryfield


Top

Pine Grove Cemetery (Civil War Gravesites)
Keywords: Cemetery, Marker

Description: Italian marble Civil War Monument; General Hiram Burnham's Burial Site. Civil war monuments and burials. Older section contains a number of uniquely carved stones.
Location: At top of Campbell Hill (Route 1) on the South side of Road. Cherryfield
Open to the Public?: Yes

Responsible Organization: Pine Grove Cemetery Association


Top

Ricker House, Amaziah
Keywords: Architecture

Description: (Circa 1803). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the Narraguagus River off Park Street. Cherryfield


Top

Stewart House, Arthur L.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Mansard architecture (circa 1850s). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main Street, Cherryfield


Top

Washington County Railroad Station
Keywords: Architecture

Description: One of only two remaining railroad stations in Washington County which retain their early design (1898). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Cherryfield


Top

Willey House, Arthur
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Victorian architecture, with distinctive three-story tower (circa 1876-1877). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Cherryfield


Top

Wilson House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Cape Cod house with salt box ell (late 1700s). This house has been in two states (Massachusetts before Maine was a state), two counties (Lincoln before Washington County was formed in 1789), and two towns (Steuben before Cherryfield was incorporated in 1816). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Cherryfield


Top


Columbia

Columbia Union Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Built in 1829 or 1840, this church's exterior was remodeled in 1870, and the design reflects Greek Revival influence with it's triangular gabled pediment, wide cornice and corner pilasters. The Belfry also has corner pilasters and crenellation of its roof line. The windows and doors of the Columbia Union Church have interesting geometric framing. This was the Epping Baptist Church, before it became a Union Church, the first Baptist Church embodied east of the Penobscot river. On the National Register of Historic Sites. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Near Columbia Town Hall. Epping Road, Columbia 04606
Open to the Public?: No
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Not in use at this moment
Items for Sale: None at this time
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: Could be arranged sometimes
Responsible Organization: Columbia Union Church Society, c/o Ronnie L. Strout, 267 Ridge Road, Addison, ME 04606; Phone: 483-4374


Top


Columbia Falls

Bucknam House, John
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Wooden clapboarded gabled roof house (1792). On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main Street, Columbia Falls


Top

Bucknam House, Samuel
Keywords: Architecture

Description: "One of the finest Federal Period Cape style houses" in Maine (1820-1821), and "one of the most ornately finished houses of its kind" in Maine. On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Columbia Falls


Top

Columbia House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: This structure, built in the 1820s, was opened as an inn in 1847. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main Street, Columbia Falls


Top

Epping Baptist Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival influence (1829). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Columbia Falls


Top

Hamlin Hall
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture (1857). The first floor was a schoolroom. It was named for a former resident of Columbia, Elijah Hamlin, the brother of Hannibal Hamlin, the first Vice President under Abraham Lincoln. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Columbia Falls

Responsible Organization: Knights of Pythias


Top

Little River Methodist Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture (1858). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Sits by the Little River. Columbia Falls


Top

Ruggles House Museum, Thomas
Keywords: Architecture, Museum

Description: Federal Style architecture (1820). This museum house is known for its "flying staircase" and fine woodcarving. On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Columbia Falls
Dates Open: Open all summer.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: The Ruggles House Society, Columbia Falls
Website: http://www.ruggleshouse.com/


Top

Wilson House, Joseph
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Classic New England Colonial style house (1793). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Columbia Falls


Top

Wilson-Keene House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Traditional Colonial style home (1790s). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main Street, Columbia Falls


Top


Cutler

Little River Light
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Opened in 1847 on Little River Island at the mouth of Cutler Harbor, it was reconstructed in 1878. The century-old bell from Little River Light has a place of honor at the triangle in the Town of Cutler. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Offshore. Cutler


Top

Presidential Living Room and Barn Loft
Keywords: Architecture, Museum

Description: Memorabilia of President, in house and barn Loft. Presidential portraits, posters, puzzles, videos, books, magazines, model homes, ornaments, bottles, banks, and sculpture.
Location: Enter Route 191 off route U.S. 1 in East Machias at Mobil Station. Stay on 191 about 14 miles, turn right on cove road. Fire station, Post Office, Ball Field are on corner. Proceed 1/2 mile. Cape house, plus barn on left. Whale weathervane on Barn. Cutler 04626
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 60
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: All year.
Hours Open: By Appointment
Items for Sale: Postcards
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Advance Notice Required: Ten Days
Responsible Organization: Private Home, P.O. Box 1, Cutler, ME 04626; Phone: 259-2088


Top


Danforth

Cornerstone Inn
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Originally the Foss House and an early inn and tavern (early 1800s). It has been refurbished and is now a restaurant. Much of the early wood work remains. Old enough to be on the National register of Historic Sites.
Location: Corner of Rt#1 and Depot Street, Danforth 04424
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 50
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Everyday
Hours Open: 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Items for Sale: This is a working Restaurant.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: Roxanne Fish and Ardis Fish, Cornerstone Inn, Danforth, ME 04424


Top

Geneva House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Queen Anne Style house built in 1892. Now a private home. One of the most elegant houses in Danforth. Built by one of the original lumber barons.
Location: Route 169 across the bridge from Danforth. Big Yellow House/Green Trim on right side of road. Springfield Rd., Danforth 04424
Open to the Public?: No
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 10
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: A week's notice
Responsible Organization: Owner, Springfield Rd, Danforth, ME 04424; Phone: 448-7211; Fax: 448-7211


Top

Notch Cemetery
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: Oldest Cemetery in Danforth. The founder of Weston is buried here (William Butterfield).
Location: 1/4 of a mile South on Rt.169 past the bridge on your left next to the Post Office. Danforth 04424
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Any day during daylight hours.
Hours Open: Daytime Hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: Town of Danforth


Top

Union Hall (Danforth Town Hall)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: This building represents the grand scale that this former Lumbering Empire embodied. It is a sentinel, peeling forth the time of day over the countryside from its famous Seth Thomas Clock. The interior is much the same as when it was built in 1888. It is in the process of renovation. On National Register of Historic Sites.
Location: Corner of Depot and Weatherbee Street, Downtown. Danforth 04424
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: By appointment only, check with Danforth Town Office.
Items for Sale: None
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Responsible Organization: Town of Danforth (Historical Society is being initiated.), Danforth, ME 04424; Phone: 448-2321


Top


Dennysville

Allan House, Theophilus W.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: House in Dennysville Historic District. T.W. Allan was the second son of Mark Allan and the generation of Col. John Allan of Revolutionary fame. The Original house was Colonial. In 1839 a two story section of Federal Revival design was added.
Location: The first house on the right on Cemetery Rd. Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Allan House (Dennys River Inn), John D.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: House in Dennysville Historic District. This house was built in 1896 for John D. Allan by Nathan Foster who built the Pomeroy Mansion and Odd Fellows Hall in Pembroke. It was erected on the site of Ebenezer C. Wilder's much earlier home and inn. John D. Allan's son, Herbert, later operated "Allan's Hotel" there. Later owners also served the public, changing the name to "Denny's River Inn." A recent addition is a studio for a ballet school, "The American House of Dance."
Location: First house on the right on the Lane. Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Congregational Church of Dennysville and Edmunds
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The Church which was organized in 1805, met in private homes and school houses, until this building was erected in 1834. The pews have doors with brass buttons. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Just off Rte. 86, behind Lincoln Memorial Library. King St., Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: Yes
Dates Open: Each Sunday, all months
Hours Open: 9:00 am June-September; otherwise, 11:00 am

Phone: 726-3905


Top

Congregational Parsonage
Keywords: Architecture

Description: House in Dennysville Historic District. In 1862 John Kilby and his brother-in-law, John Allan, had this house built and presented it to the church for use as a parsonage. It was occupied by members of the clergy and their families until the 1940s, and for the next twenty years it was rented to various families. In 1967 it was sold to private individuals.
Location: On Water St., next to the Dennysville Academy. Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Dennysville Academy
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Former Academy building in the Dennysville Historic District. The Academy was incorporated in 1846. A group of townspeople who wished to provide higher education to older scholars erected a sturdy building with necessary furnishings and equipment. They had no fund or endowment other than their own limited means. They hired qualified teachers. The academy was in active operation eight years with an enrollment comprised of local young people and many from surrounding towns; however, the academy closed because the financial burden was too great for those who were providing for it. In 1856 it was sold to individuals for use as a church vestry. The building served that purpose for over 100 years. It is now privately owned.
Location: On Main St. (Water St.), back of the Civil War Monument. Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Dennysville Cemetery
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: This cemetery has been the burial place of Dennysville and Edmunds residents from the time of settlement until the present. In the hearse house just inside the entrance of the cemetery is the horse-drawn hearse which was used as late as the early 1900's. The fringed curtains are hanging in the windows and the runners are nearby for winter use. Three Revolutionary Veterans are buried here in unmarked graves. (The Denny's River Historical Society is in the process of procuring V.A. Stones for them.)
Location: At the end of Cemetery Road. Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: Yes


Top

Dennysville Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: A cohesive grouping of 19th century buildings. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: King (Route 86) and Main Streets, Dennysville


Top

Dennysville Historic Society
Keywords: Historical Society

Location: Dennysville


Top

Kilby House, John
Keywords: Architecture

Description: House in the Dennysville Historic District. The House was built by John Kilby, son of early settler, William Kilby. It was erected in three installments in 1818, 1822, and 1843. The large two story main house has two chimneys and an entabulated doorway framed by sidelights and pilasters. The parlor has French landscaped wallpaper illustrating an English Hunting Scene.
Location: On Smoke House Hill, between Water St. and the Lane. Harrison Avenue, Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Lincoln House, Theodore (formerly the Lincoln House Bed & Breakfast)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: General Benjamin Lincoln received the sword of surrender at Yorktown. In 1786 he and two other men purchased the township. The House was built (1787) for General Lincoln's son, Theodore, who settled here in 1786. Three generations of Lincoln's lived here. The family was well-known for its hospitality. John James Audubon was among the many visitors at the Lincoln House. The house was previously used as a bed and breakfast. On National Register of Historical Places.
Location: After leaving Rt. 1 onto Rt. 86, the Lincoln House is the first building on the right, overlooking the Denny's River. Dennysville 04628


Top

Lincoln Memorial Library
Keywords: Architecture, Genealogy Resource, History Resource

Description: The building was donated by descendants of Theodore Lincoln, the first owner and settler of area that is now Dennysville and Pembroke. Collection of Maine and local history; genealogical material.
Location: On King Street (Route 86), overlooking the Dennys River, the first building on the right after passing the Lincoln House. Dennysville
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 20
Dates Open: Tuesday and Friday
Hours Open: 1:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. year round
Items for Sale: History "Dennysville 1786-1986...and Edmunds too!" ($25.00), and other local histories.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: Several weeks
Responsible Organization: Library Trustees


Top

Mill House, The
Keywords: Architecture

Description: House in Dennysville Historic District. This house was built for Theodore Lincoln, Jr., on the hill overlooking the mills. The back section was built in 1823 and the large main house in 1835. Three generations of Lincolns lived in it. When Dennys River Lumber Company bought the mills, they also bought the house for the mill manager, John Higgins. Later the Higgins family bought the house and four Higgin's generations lived there.
Location: On the hill above the Upper Bridge, just above the EDM Youth Center. Dennysville 04628
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Wilder House, Zenas
Keywords: Architecture

Description: One of the first frame houses in Dennysville. Zenas Wilder, a Revolutionary veteran, built his house on the hill overlooking the mill pond. The house has been continuously occupied for over 200 years by his descendants. Although it has been enlarged and remodeled, the original section is intact.
Location: The only house off the left side of Cemetery Rd. Dennysville
Open to the Public?: No


Top


East Machias

1805 House
Keywords: Architecture

Location: On Academy Hill, High Street, State Route 191, next door to the 1823 Washington Academy Building. East Machias


Top

Albee-Richardson Memorial Building (Church of the Disciples of Christ)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: A simple wood clapboard building with a square tower (1811). [Source: In part or entirety from "Sunrise County Architecture" 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the hill below Washington Academy. East Machias 04654

Responsible Organization: Washington Academy


Top

Davis House, Captain Frederick
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style house (1875) with a porthole window on the third floor. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Off Route 191 on a bank overlooking the East Machias River. East Machias


Top

East Machias Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The Historic District includes 34 sites on High, Water, and Bridge Streets. On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: East Machias


Top

First Congregational Church of East Machias
Keywords: Architecture

Description: This historic church is on the National Register of Historic Buildings (1836), and played an historic role in growth of the area. It also houses a rare tracker organ and is the site of the historic town clock and bell. A splendid example of the best in New England architecture, generations of families and hard work have also supported and woven this building into the fabric of the town. Dramatically lit at night.
Location: Four miles east of Machias on Route 92, directly across the river from Route 1; very visible from Route 1. In the heart of town, at head of the river when entering town from Machias. High Street, East Machias 04630
Open to the Public?: No
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 300
Dates Open: Sunday mornings - 10:30a.m. to 12 noon
Hours Open: Officially none

Advance Notice Required: One day
Responsible Organization: First Congregational Church Corporation, High Street, East Machias, ME 04630


Top

Pope House, Warren F.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Prominent residence in Historic District of East Machias. House was designed by nationally recognized Portland architect John Calvin Stevens. It is a well preserved, typical example of his work, a three story shingle-style 1897 home. It is said to be first house in the area to be designed by an architect.
Location: On Route 191 (High Street) East side of street about halfway between Congregational Church and Washington Academy, next door to Mary Burns School. Sign reading "Charlotte Joy Chase Gallery" on front lawn (after June 15). East Machias 04630
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 15
Dates Open: All Year
Items for Sale: Original Paintings of Maine Scenes, wildflowers, gardens.

P.O. Box 119, East Machias, ME 04630 Phone: 255-4713


Top

Rim and the Site of Fort Foster, The
Keywords: Architecture, Fort

Description: The Battle of "The Rim" took place two miles below the west or "Bad Little Falls" of the Machias River on August 13-16, 1777. The battle was fought between a British Fleet of three frigates, and white settlers and Passamaquoddy and Penobscot Indian Tribes. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Fort Foster Park on the East Machias River. East Machias 04654


Top

Talbot House, James R.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Two mansard roofs, with a denticled cornice. Decorations are unique among Maine mansard houses of the period (1874). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: East Machias 04654


Top

Talbot House, Peter
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Colonial house (1772), which originally stood on the location of the James Talbot House, but was moved to its present location up the hill by 9 yoke of oxen in 1875. (The original ell was not moved, and remains next to the James Talbot House.) It was restored in 1916. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On Gunhouse Hill. East Machias


Top

Washington Academy
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal Period architecture, in the East Machias Historic District (1823). On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: East Machias 04654


Top

Wiswell House, Elbert
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Mansard House (1871-1872). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On a hill off of Route 191. East Machias


Top


Eastport

Babb House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Granite Gothic Revival style house (1869). Look for the original owner's name inscribed in stone at the gable end of the building. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Key Street at Middle Street, Eastport 04631


Top

Bayside Cemetery
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: Genealogy, town history.
Location: Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes


Top

Border Historical Society and Barracks Museum
Keywords: Architecture, Fort, Museum, Historical Society, Genealogy Resource

Description: Barracks Building (1809) from the War of 1812. It contains historical artifacts about Eastport, and the War of 1812. This building was moved to this site from Fort Hill circa 1870. Another section of the building was moved to Orange Street. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Opposite the Drug Store. Route 190, Washington Street, Eastport
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Memorial Day to Labor Day - Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday
Hours Open: 1p.m. to 4 p.m.
Items for Sale: Several Books on Area - Birds eye view of Eastport
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: Border Historical Society, Perry, ME 04667; Phone: 853-6630


Top

Bowman (Civil War Gravesite and Bronze Plaque), Edward R.
Keywords: Marker

Description: Medal of Honor Plaque on gravestone awarded for action in 2nd attack on Ft. Fisher in January, 1865. He was one of two Civil War Medal of Honor awardees from Eastport in the Civil War.
Location: New section of Hillside Cemetery (across from old section with entrance sign), he is buried in the Bowman family lot. From Shead High School on High Street go almost to the end of the cemetery. The gravesite is on the left side of High Street, with a large marble stone in the center of the lot. Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Dates Open: Open year round
Hours Open: Normal Daylight Hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: City of Eastport, 78 High St., Eastport, ME 04631; Phone: 853-2300


Top

Boynton Street Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Three Federal style residences dating from 1810-1822, with distinctive doorways and extensive interior woodworking. All three homes are also listed separately.
Location: Eastport 04631


Top

Bucknam House (The Parsonage)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: (1821). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Key Street, Eastport 04631


Top

Central Congregational Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: "One of the finer provincial Federal style churches in the state" (1829). Called "the Seaman's Church," because its tall spire was used as a guide to navigation. The original spire, which was added in 1831, was destroyed by the 1869 Saxby Gale. The current spire was damaged by lightning in April 1994, and was removed and restored in 1995. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Middle Street, Eastport 04631
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: One day.


Top

Chadbourne (Mexican-American War Gravesite), 2nd Lt. Theodore Lincoln
Keywords: Marker

Description: Second Lt. Chadbourne was killed in the early days of the Mexican-American War--on May 9, 1846 at the Battle of Resaca De La Palma. He was an 1843 graduate of West Point, the same class as U.S. Grant, later General, and then President. Lt. Chadbourne is the great grandson of Revolutionary War Major General Benjamin Lincoln, who, for the Continental Army, accepted the sword of surrender from British commander General Cornwallis.
Location: Old section of Hillside Cemetery: Coming from Shead High School on High Street, it is not far from General Prince's stone, on the right side of the street, in view from the road. It is a large white marble upright stone on a pedestal in Chadbourne Lot. Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Open Year Round
Hours Open: Normal Daylight Hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: City of Eastport, 78 High St., Eastport, ME 04631; Phone: 853-2300


Top

Civil War Ships Memorial
Keywords: Marker

Description: 5-6 ton granite marker with bronze plaque for the 5 Civil War ships that were burned on Cony Beach. (See "Quoddy Tides" newspaper for June 14, 1996.) From 1901-1920 no less then 5 Civil War Ships, U.S.S. Minnesota (survived the Battle of the Ironclads that changed Naval Warfare forever); U.S.S. Voymon (the last 74 gunship of the line the American Navy ever built); U.S.S. Wabash (was admiral Duponts flagship in the civil war); U.S.S. Franklin (was Admiral Farragut's flagship after the war); U.S.S. Richmond (served with Admiral Farragut in the war and was at the Battle of Mobile Bay). The ships were brought to Cony Beach because of the high tides, and were burned for their metal.
Location: At Shackford Head State Park parking lot. On Route 190 in Eastport, take Deep Cove Road to Shackford Head State Park, next to Marine Trade School. (Below the granite stone is Cony Beach.). Eastport
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Open Year Round, 7 days
Hours Open: Normal Daylight Hours

Responsible Organization: State of Maine Bureau of Parks and Lands, Department of Conservation, 106 Hogan Road, Bangor, ME 04401; Phone: 941-4014


Top

Cony (DD/DDE-508) Memorial, U.S.S.
Keywords: Marker

Description: Rose Granite marker, with inscription and outline of U.S.S. Cony, placed in May, 1997, as a monument to the ship and crews, the men who died on ship in W.W.II, and to Eastport Civil War hero Joseph S. Cony.
Location: In front of Peavey Memorial Library. Water Street, Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year round
Hours Open: Normal Daylight Hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: Peavey Library, Water Street, Eastport, ME 04631; Phone: 853-4021


Top

Dog Island Light
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: This 32' light with metal tower was constructed in 1919. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Offshore, on Dog Island. Eastport


Top

Eastport Customs and Post Office
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Granite block building (1890-1893; remodeled in 1974). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Water and Washington Streets, Eastport 04631


Top

Eastport Downtown Historic District
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The entire downtown is an homogenous, cohesive grouping of 29 architecturally and/or historically significant buildings, built after the fire of 1886. (Most were built in 1887-1888.) On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Eastport 04631


Top

Eastport Savings Bank (Tides Institute)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick Italianate architecture (1887). The ground floor served until 1975-1976 as the Eastport police station, and the third floor served as the city rooms. Bangor Savings bank vacated the building in 1996. The building is in need of structural repair, and is currently (1997) for sale. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: At the junction of Sea Street and Water Street. Bank Square, Water Street., Eastport 04631

Responsible Organization: Tides Institute


Top

Eastport War Memorial
Keywords: Marker

Description: Plaque containing the names of Eastporters who served their country during wartime.
Location: On the lawn in front of Peavey Memorial Library. Water St., Eastport


Top

Elm Cottage
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Originally a classic Cape Cod style house (1817-1818), it was remodeled in the mid to late 1800s. It has a stairway which passes through a brickwork arch in the house's center chimney. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Elm Street, Eastport 04631


Top

Fleet National Bank
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick Italianate architecture (1882). One of the few Eastport downtown waterfront buildings to survive the fire of 1886. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Corner of Water and Dana Streets, Eastport 04631

Responsible Organization: Fleet Bank,


Top

Fort Sullivan
Keywords: Site

Description: Birthplace of Civil War Major General Napoleon Jackson Tecumseh Dana, across from Powder House. General Dana was a West Point graduate in 1842, and was wounded in the Mexican-American War; also wounded in the Civil War. On the National Register Of Historic Sites.
Location: From Shead High School on High Street(the site of Ft. Sullivan), turn right onto Adams Street. Turn right onto McKinley Street, and go around turn. The Powder House ruins are on left across is field where officers barracks once were, the birthplace of Major General Dana. Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Open Year Round
Hours Open: Normal Daylight Hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: Border Historical Society, Eastport, ME 04631


Top

Hayden House, Aaron
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style architecture (circa 1805). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Boynton Street, Eastport


Top

Hillside Cemetery
Keywords: Cemetery

Location: Eastport
Open to the Public?: Yes


Top

Hobbs House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal Period house (built in installments: 1816, 1823, 1849). The house has a beautiful fanlight above the front door, and an interior circular stairway. Local legend is that a secret room was built into the foundation, which was used for the Underground Railroad. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 11 Shackford Street, Eastport 04631


Top

Kilby House, Daniel
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style home (1820). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Boynton and Kilby Streets, Eastport 04631


Top

Kilby House Inn Bed and Breakfast (Herbert Kilby House)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Simplified Queen Anne style Victorian (1887-1888). Built on the site of the last residence burned in the 1886 fire. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Opposite the Mowe House. 122 Water Street, Eastport 04631


Top

Metcalf (World War I Gravesite), William
Keywords: Marker

Description: Bill Metcalf was only one of two Americans that were awarded the Victoria Cross in World War I, on February 11, 1919. Metcalf received the medal from King George V of Great Britain.
Location: Take Route 190 to Clark Street. At the intersection with High Street., keep left on Clark Street. The first left is Cemetery Road to Bayside Cemetery. The gravestone--military gray granite--is on the right when facing the water. Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Everyday during the year.
Hours Open: Normal daylight hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: City of Eastport, 78 High Street, Eastport, ME 04631; Phone: 853-2300


Top

Mowe House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The building has a traditional five-bayed front. It is one of the few waterfront buildings to escape the fire of 1886. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Corner of Adams and Water Streets, Eastport 04631


Top

Peavey Memorial Library
Keywords: Architecture, Marker

Description: Historical brick building (1893) with Romanesque Revival architectural elements, and with a cannon and two war memorials on the lawn. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Water Street, Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Items for Sale: Plates with picture of Library.

Responsible Organization: Eastport Library Association,


Top

Powder Magazine Ruins
Keywords: Architecture, Fort

Description: A relic of the War of 1812, where Fort Sullivan once stood.
Location: On Fort Hill; from Shead High School on High Street, turn onto Adams Street. Then, turn right onto McKinley Street. Follow McKinley, and it is on the right, just past the first house around the curve. Adams Street, Eastport 04631
Items for Sale: None


Top

Prince (Civil War Gravesite), General Henry
Keywords: Marker

Description: Large granite marker for Prince family, and small gray granite military stone for General Prince. General Henry Prince, born in Eastport, graduated from West Point in 1835. He fought in the Indian Wars in Florida against the Seminoles, and was wounded in 1836. He fought in the Mexican-American War, was wounded and brevetted for gallantry. He also fought out west against the Indians before the Civil War, and was made Brigadier General in 1862. Prince fought in many battles during the Civil War, and then served as paymaster until his retirement in 1879.
Location: It is in the old section of Hillside Cemetery: Coming from Shead High School on High Street, it is the large standing gray block of gray granite stone just off of High Street. Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Open Year Round
Hours Open: Normal daylight hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: City of Eastport, 78 High Street, Eastport, ME 04631; Phone: 853-2300


Top

Raye's Old Stone Ground Mustard Mill
Keywords: Architecture, Museum

Description: Authentic operating stone mustard mill. Last operating stone mustard mill in America. The grindstones were brought over from Europe at turn of the century and are still used to grind mustard.
Location: On Washington St. , barn red colored building located next to Irving Self Serve, and across the street from First National Bank of Bar Harbor. 83 Washington St., Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 20
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: April - December, Monday through Friday.
Hours Open: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Items for Sale: Mustard and Maine Products
Are there Photo Restrictions?: Yes
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: J.W. Raye and Co., Inc., P.O. Box 2, 83 Washington Street, Eastport, ME 04631; Phone: 853-4451; Toll-Free Phone: 800-853-1903; Fax: 853-2937


Top

St. John and Thomas Raymond (War of 1812 Gravesites), British Lts. Walter
Keywords: Marker

Description: Gravesites of Lieutenant Walter St. John, of the 102nd Regiment of Foot British Army, and Lieutenant Thomas Raymond, Sailing Master of the British Navy; two side by side, white marble headstones in the old section of Hillside Cemetery. Both Officers were veterans of the war with Napoleon, and both died during the War of 1812 British occupation of Eastport from 1814 to 1818.
Location: Both graves are next to each other, almost in front of the tomb behind the old section of Hillside Cemetery. From Shead High School on High Street, go to the Hillside Cemetery entrance (granite blocks at the entrance) Go down the gravel road to the tomb on the right. The graves will be at your right. Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Open Year Round
Hours Open: Normal Daylight Hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: City of Eastport, 78 High St, Eastport, ME 04631; Phone: 853-2300


Top

Stetson-Starboard House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style (1821-1822). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 13 Boynton Street, Eastport 04631


Top

Tidal Dam Causeway (Rt.190)
Keywords: Architecture, Site

Description: There are two sections of the Tidal Dam, representing the completed section of world's largest tidal dam, built for the incompleted Passamaquoddy Tidal Power Project. This project proposed to trap (via tidal dams and gates) the incoming tide in Passamaquoddy Bay, and to then generate electricity by passing the trapped water through turbines to be situated at Carrying Place Cove in Eastport (near the Welcome to Eastport sign). The water passing through the turbines would then pass into Cobscook Bay (also enclosed by dams and gates), and at low tide, Cobscook Bay would be drained into the Bay of Fundy.
Location: Route 190 from the southern tip of Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Reservation to Carlow Island, Eastport; and then from Carlow Island to Moose Island at Quoddy Village, Eastport. Eastport 04631
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year Round - State Highway
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: State of Maine Department of Transportation


Top

Todd House Bed and Breakfast
Keywords: Architecture, Fort

Description: Classic New England full Cape, built as a cabin in 1775-1783, and later enlarged. A cornerstone indicates the 1801 chartering of the Masonic Order of Eastern Lodge No. 7. The building served as soldiers' barracks for the onetime nearby mud battery on Todd Head. It is currently the Todd House Bed and Breakfast, furnished with period antiques and library of local history. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 11 Capen Avenue, Eastport 04631


Top

Weston House Bed and Breakfast
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Hipped roof Federal style home (1810). It was built for Johathan Deledernier Weston, a local attorney, who drew up the papers for the return of Eastport to the United States following the War of 1812 British occupation from 1814 to 1818. At one time, the naturalist John James Audubon stayed in this house. The Weston House is now operated as a bed and breakfast. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 26 Boynton St., Eastport 04631


Top


Edmunds

Hobart House, Aaron
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Early residence. Aaron Hobart was the grandson of Col. Aaron Hobart, who made the first church bells cast in this country, later selling the business to Paul Revere. He also made cannon and cannon balls for the colonies during the Revolution. In 1786 Col. Aaron purchased Twp. 10, now Edmunds. His son, Isaac, settled in Edmunds in 1792. Isaac's eldest son, Aaron, was the one for whom this house was built about 1830. Aaron, who had seven sons, was in the lumbering and shipping business. He owned a wharf near which his sons built ships. Aaron was a member of the Building Committee when the Congregational meeting house was erected. His home had two and a half stories and a five-bayed front facing Denny's River.
Location: On the Preston Rd., across the river from the Lincoln House and the Congregational Church Building. Edmunds 04628
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Hobart House, Nathaniel
Keywords: Architecture

Description: A house which was moved from Massachusetts. When Col. Aaron Hobart purchased Twp 10 (now Edmunds) in 1786, he purchased a house which stood on High St. in Newburyport, Massachusetts, and had it taken down and transported by schooner to Edmunds for his son Nathanie. It is evident from the belongings Nathaniel brought with him that he expected to live the life of a country gentleman, and that Edmunds wasn't suited to his life-style. In 1796 he sold his house, the large tract of land which extended from Rock Peter to Snare Marsh, and the Brisk Mill, and returned to Massachusetts. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the River Rd, in Edmunds; the first house beyond the upper bridge. Edmunds
Open to the Public?: No


Top


Forest City

Forest City Cemetery, International
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: Forest City is split by the International border but has only one cemetery (on the New Brunswick, Canada, side) that is used by both U.S. and Canadian citizens. The entrance area has three old millstones from a local gristmill of the late 1800's. One stone has memorial plaque (circa 1970) to a U.S. Doctor who was mainly responsible for the rehabilitation of the nearly lost cemetery.
Location: 1/2 mile north of the U.S./Canada border at Forest City. Forest City is 12 miles N.E. of Brookton, which is on US Route 1, 8 miles north of Topsfield. RR 1, Forest City 04413
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Always
Hours Open: Daylight
Items for Sale: None
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: 48 hours
Responsible Organization: Forest City Cemetery, International, R.R. 1, Forest City, ME 04413; Phone: 448-7757


Top


Harrington

Gallison Memorial Library
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick Classic Revival library (1923). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: North side of Route One. Harrington


Top

Nash House, Albert
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Temple style Greek Revival architecture (circa 1855). This house was built for a shipbuilder and sea captain who hauled lumber on his ships. The window frames and doors were built aboard ship by the ship's carpenter. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: North Street, Harrington


Top

Noyes House, Ira
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Gothic Revival architecture. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Harrington


Top

West Harrington Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Harrington


Top


Jonesport

Emms Rock Light
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Twenty eight feet tall. Recently installed automated beacon using solar power [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Eastern part of Moosabec Reach, between Jonesport and Beals Island. Jonesport


Top

Harbor House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Formerly a furniture store and telegraph office of a prominent citizen in the late 1800s and early 1900s. It has been converted into a small cafe on the first floor with memorabilia of earlier years, and also has area arts and crafts. A deck has been added for looking out over Jonesport Harbor while dining.
Location: It's located in Sawyer's Square, on opposite side of street from Congregational Church, near the Jonesport Marina. Jonesport 04649
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 40
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Opening this summer (1997).
Items for Sale: Food, arts and crafts of area - some paintings


Top

Jonesport Cemeteries
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: Many very old gravesites; genealogical resource.
Location: Jonesport 04649
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 40
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: June 1st through October 31st.
Hours Open: Daylight Hours

Responsible Organization: Town of Jonesport, Main Street, P.O. Box 489, Jonesport, ME 04649


Top

Moose Peak Light
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: 72 foot Moose Peak light (1827), 5 miles south of Jonesport on Mistake Island's rocky point. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Offshore. Jonesport


Top

Sawyer House (Dr. Henry Mansfield House), Walter P.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style architecture, built for the local blacksmith (circa 1883-1884). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main Street, Jonesport


Top

Sawyer Memorial Congregational Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Ornamental woodwork (1885-1887). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Jonesport


Top


Lubec

Carrying Place Cove Bog
Keywords: Site

Description: A distinctive coastal raised bog, unique in the United States in that it's northern edge is a vertical erosion face exposing in cross section the entire peat deposit. This peatland type occurs in the U.S. only in eastern Maine, and is fully represented at less than 6 sites in the region.
Location: On South Lubec Road, drive 3.3 miles to parking area. The North Vertical may be viewed from the beach. Lubec
Open to the Public?: Yes

Responsible Organization: State of Maine Park Service


Top

Congregational Christian Church (First Christian Church)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style (1820). Built by the Parish Society, First Christian Church was the first church building in Lubec. The original steeple was destroyed by the Saxby Gale of 1869. A replacement of the same pattern (but 15' shorter) was erected in 1872. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Lubec


Top

Fowler House, Jeremiah
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival style (circa 1840-1841) with a Colonial Revival verandah (circa 1900). On the National Register of Historic Places [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 35 School St., Lubec


Top

Gold from Sea Water
Keywords: Site

Description: Location of interest to those who may have heard or read about this nefarious enterprise.
Location: On North Lubec Road, drive 1.4 miles to site of gold factory no. 1, and drive 2.9 miles to site of gold factory no. 2. Lubec
Open to the Public?: Yes


Top

Lawrence House, Edward
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Queen Anne Victorian house (1885). Hip roof with a cross-gable, and a turret. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: North Lubec Road, Lubec


Top

Lawrence House, Elias
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Queen Anne Victorian architecture (1900). Almost identical to the Edward Lawrence House. It has a three-story tower. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: North Lubec Road, Lubec


Top

Lubec Channel Light
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Lighthouse (1890). Known as "The Sparkplug," it stands 53 feet tall in Lubec Narrows. It was automated in 1939. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: In Lubec Channel, between Lubec and Campobello Island, south of the Roosevelt Memorial Bridge. Lubec


Top

Lubec Historical Society Building
Keywords: Architecture, Historical Society

Description: Old Company store for the Columbian Packing Co., and now the headquarters for the Lubec Historical Society Inc.
Location: On Route 1889 at the edge of the built-up part of the Town of Lubec, opposite Town Cemetery. Lubec
Open to the Public?: Yes
Dates Open: Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday from late June to Labor Day.
Hours Open: 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Items for Sale: Calendars, Stationery, note paper, decals
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Responsible Organization: Lubec Historical Society Inc.


Top

McCurdy Smokehouse (Robert McBride Smoked Fish)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: (1907-1940). Currently being developed as a museum. It closed in 1991, as perhaps the last remaining herring smokehouse complex in Maine. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Water Street, Lubec

Responsible Organization: McCurdy Smokehouse Museum Committee


Top

Mill Creek Cemetery
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: One of the earliest cemeteries in the then-most-populated area of Lubec. It contains the cemetery stone of first white child born in Lubec.
Location: 2.95 miles from Route 189. Lubec
Open to the Public?: Yes


Top

Monument Lawn
Keywords: Architecture, Monument

Description: Lawn area, with civil war statue and cannons, and Lubec Veterans Honor Roll.
Location: Located at the corner of Main and Pleasant Street in Lubec. Lubec
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes


Top

Pike House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The home of Sumner Pike, who was appointed by friend President Franklin D. Roosevelt as the first chairman of newly formed Atomic Energy Commission.
Location: Corner of Main and Church Streets. Lubec
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Pike House, Ann
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival style. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 36 School Street, Lubec


Top

Viking Site
Keywords: Site

Description: Viking explorers possibly landed and settled here. Also, a great birding area.
Location: On South Lubec Road go 1.8 miles from Rt. 189, and turn left on gravel road leading to the bar. Lubec
Open to the Public?: Yes


Top

West Quoddy Head Lifesaving Station
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Constructed in 1919, the current buildings replaced the original 1873-1874 facility. It was maintained by the Coast Guard until 1972. Steel-encased concrete pilings support the boathouse and boatways. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Lubec


Top

West Quoddy Head Light
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Most Easterly Light House and Point of land in Continental United States. Park, picnic area, hiking trail. The Light Tower is not open to the public. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On South Lubec Road, 4.7 miles from Rt. 189. Lubec
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: During Summer Months

Responsible Organization: West Quoddy Head Lightkeepers' Association, Lubec


Top

Yeaton (Revolutionary War Burial Site), Hopley
Keywords: Marker

Description: Former resting place of Captain Hopley Yeaton. Hopley Yeaton, who was the first commissioned officer in the newly formed Revenue Service by President Washington. He is considered to be the father of the U.S. Coast Guard, and was also one of the founders of the Eastern Lodge #7, Masonic Lodge of Eastport in 1801. On August 29, 1979, the Coast Guard removed Yeaton's remains and placed them the Coast Guard Academy Chapel. The headstone and marker were placed by the Daughters of American Revolution.
Location: North Lubec, Route 1 to Route 189. (Check with Lubec Town Office, the Lubec Historical Society, or Lubec Chamber of Commerce.). Lubec
Open to the Public?: No

Responsible Organization: Town of Lubec, 40 School St., Lubec, ME .


Top

Young House, Daniel
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style (1822), built as a two-family house. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Main Street, Lubec


Top


Machias

Albee House, Carrie B.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Many characteristics typical of the Victorian period (1900). [Source: In part or entirety from "Sunrise County Architecture" 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Corner of West and Court Streets. Machias 04654


Top

Burnham Tavern Museum
Keywords: Architecture, Museum

Description: Revolutionary War-era tavern (1770), now a museum. Oldest building in Eastern Maine, and the only one with a Revolutionary War history. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Just off U.S. Route 1 on Maine Route 192. Machias 04654
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 20
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Summer Months - Mid June - September
Hours Open: Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Admission Fee?: Yes; $2.00 adults, $.25 children
Items for Sale: Postcards
Are there Photo Restrictions?: Yes
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Advance Notice Required: Guide at tavern during posted open times, otherwise by appointment- a day or so if possible - earlier the better.
Responsible Organization: Hannah Weston Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 2 Free St., Machias, ME 04654; Phone: 255-4432


Top

Center Street Congregational Church (U.C.C.)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Church (1836-1837). Stained glass windows (1899), tracker organ. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Corner of Center and Court Streets. Machias 04654
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: January-December: Sundays, Monday-Friday: 2 pm-5 pm
Hours Open: Secretary on Premises: Mon.-Fri. 2p.m.-5.p.m. other times by arrangment
Items for Sale: none
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: Informally/1 or 2 days
Responsible Organization: Centre St. Church, Machias, ME; Phone: 255-6665


Top

Foster House, George H.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Mansard with a two-story projection in front (1869). Nearly identical to the Gilson House. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: North Street, Machias 04654


Top

Gilson House, Andrew
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Mansard roof with dormer windows (1869). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: North Street, Machias 04654


Top

Gilson House, Fred
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Queen Anne Victorian house with interesting doorway (1898-1899). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: School Street, Machias 04654


Top

Hill House, Obediah
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Transitional stylistic features of the Federal and Greek Revival architecture, with gabled roof (1824). Obediah Hill, a merchant, is buried at Holmes Falls on the Machias River. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: High Street, Machias 04654


Top

Kurz House (Peabody House), Commander Walter C.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Bullfinch-original-style residence.
Location: 18 Elm Street, Machias 04654


Top

Libby House, Joseph
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style architecture (circa 1820-1830). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Near the Machias-Machiasport line on Route 92. Machias 04654


Top

Longfellow House, David
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal Style residence (circa 1830). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Corner of Center and Court Streets. Machias 04654


Top

Machias Railroad Station
Keywords: Architecture

Description: This building (1898) is being developed as a railroad museum, tourist information center, community meeting place, and chamber of commerce office. Planned opening is summer 1998. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On Lower Main Street, US Route 1. Machias 04654


Top

Machias Town Office Annex (Hemingway School)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Wooden Italianate style architecture (1863), originally a two-room school. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Court St., Machias 04654

Responsible Organization: Town of Machias, , Machias, ME


Top

Morse House, Samuel
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style architecture (1810). Morse was a school teacher, lieutenant at Fort O'Brien in the War of 1812, a merchant, the collector of Customs for Machias and Eastport, and the treasurer of Washington County. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Overlooking the Machias River. Elm Street, Machias 04654


Top

Nash House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate and Victorian architecture [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On Court Street abutting the town cemetery. Machias 04654


Top

Perry House, Clark
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate architecture (1868). Windows have peaked lintels, and the cornice is supported by paired brackets. On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Court St., Machias 04654


Top

Pope Store, S.W.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style architecture (1860), built as a general store. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: At the foot of College Hill. Machias 04654


Top

Porter House, Rufus K.
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal style architecture (1825). This is the birthplace of Henry Homes Porter, who funded construction of Porter Library. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Elm Street, Machias 04654


Top

Porter Memorial Library
Keywords: Architecture, Marker

Description: Granite ashlar construction, Romanesque Revival architecture (1893). Unique Architecture; extensive genealogical collection, ballast stone and andirons from the British ship, Margaretta (first naval battle of the Revolutionary War); Civil War statue. On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: 52 Court St., Machias 04654
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Items for Sale: Library Note Paper, mugs, and totebags
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: 24 hours
Responsible Organization: Porter Memorial Library Association and Board of Trustees, 52 Court St., Machias, ME 04654


Top

Post Office and Custom House (Machias Savings Bank)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick, simple Italianate design (1871-1872), it is connected to the Machias Savings Bank by a brick extension. The building is under restoration (1997). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Machias 04654

Responsible Organization: Machias Savings Bank, Machias, ME


Top

Rawson School
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Machias 04654


Top

Washington County Courthouse
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick Italianate style (1853) with cupola and bell (added 1868). On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Court Street, Machias 04654

Responsible Organization: Washington County Government, , Machias, ME


Top

Washington County Jail
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Machias 04654


Top


Machiasport

Avery Rock Light
Keywords: Site

Description: Originally a lighthouse (1875), the buildings were demolished in 1934 and replaced with a flashing buoy. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Machias Bay. Machiasport


Top

Fort O'Brien
Keywords: Architecture, Fort

Description: State Park at the Battle of the British ship Margaretta, June 12, 1775, in Machias, with few remains of the 1775 Fort. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Machiasport


Top

Gates House Museum (Home of Machiasport Historical Society)
Keywords: Architecture, Museum

Description: Federal Period influence. On the National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the edge of the Machias River. Machiasport 04655
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: June: Tuesday - Saturday
Hours Open: 12:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Items for Sale: Postcards, Booklets, Etc.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Responsible Organization: Machiasport Historical Society, P.O. Box 301, Machiasport, ME 04655; Phone: 255-8461


Top

Larrabee Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate Period of architecture (exterior 1874, interior 1880). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Route 92, Machiasport


Top

Libby Island Light
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Lighthouse (1822) constructed 91' high of granite. Many shipwrecks were caused by the bar between this island and the larger northern island. In the last half of the 19th century, there were 38 major shipwrecks in Machias Bay. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Offshore at the Mouth of Machias Bay. Machiasport


Top

Liberty Town Hall
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Excellent example of Italianate style of architecture (1873). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Faces east on Route 92. Machiasport 04654


Top

Machiasport Congregational Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Federal Style architecture, with Palladian window (1828). Spectacular setting on a bluff overlooking Machias Bay. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Machiasport


Top

Micmac Farm Country Inn
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Frame cedar-shingled Cape (1776). The builder, Ebenezer Gardner, originally from Massachusetts, fled here from Nova Scotia in 1763, due to his support of the Colonial American Patriots. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Route 92, Machiasport


Top


Marshfield

Marshfield Congregational Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Wooden construction (1881) with gabled roof, circular window in the gable end, and a bell tower. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the West end of Marshfield Ridge. Marshfield


Top


Milbridge

Milbridge Congregational Church (Union Church) and Vestry
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Building has Grecian Doric columns, and a 106' spire (church 1854). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Bridge Street, Milbridge


Top

Milbridge Historical Society Museum
Keywords: Museum, Historical Society

Description: Museum of local history and Western Washington County, especially shipbuilding which prospered here in the late 19th Century.
Location: Main St. Milbridge West side of Street, South of business District. Main St., Milbridge 04658
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 50
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Tuesday, Saturday, Sunday - Late May thru Late September
Hours Open: 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., or by appointment anytime
Items for Sale: Historical Books, T-Shirts, Sweatshirts, Mugs, Local Cookbook, Notepaper, Children's Books
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
Advance Notice Required: For off-season visit, (or special day) call 48 hrs in advance
Responsible Organization: Milbridge Historical Society, P.O. Box 194, Milbridge, ME 04658; Phone: 546-4471; Fax: 546-7479


Top

Narraguagus Light Station
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Built of brick in 1853, rebuilt in 1875-76. Ten sided lantern, added in 1876; decommissioned in 1934, this station was sold to a private citizen. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the east side of Pond Island. Milbridge


Top

Petit Manan Light Station
Keywords: Architecture, Light

Description: Petit Manan Island is two miles off Milbridge. The first light tower was completed in 1817. Mrs. Jeremiah Leighton, the first woman lighthousekeeper in the United States, served there until 1831. The light was rebuilt between 1823 and 1825, then torn down before 1889. The present light tower is granite, and was built in 1855, is 109 feet high with a two-story, and has a12 sided glass and iron lantern. The original fog bell is now at the Milbridge Elementary School. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Petit Manan Island. Milbridge


Top

Everett Wallace House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Queen Anne Victorian architecture (late 1800s), with decorative shingles, pointed tower, and gabled roof. Lovely place to stay; home built by ship captain. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: East side of street, south of business district, 3 doors before Museum. Main St. (U.S. Route 1), Milbridge 04658
Open to the Public?: No

Responsible Organization: Building proprietor.


Top

Wyman House, Jasper
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style architecture (1890), with a cupola and widow's walk. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Milbridge


Top


Northfield

Frenning Stone Cottage
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Constructed of local field stone (circa 1915), the building has a large field stone fireplace, slate roofing, and a gabled roof with many cross gables. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On a small man-made island on the west shore on Bog Lake. Northfield


Top


Pembroke

Bridges Homestead
Keywords: Site

Description: Birthplace of Styles Bridges, Governor and Senator of New Hampshire.
Location: 3rd house on right. Leighton Point Road, Pembroke 04666
Open to the Public?: No
Dates Open: Historical Society can provide information and possible tour of grounds with advance notice. Call 726-4734.

Responsible Organization: Private Home,


Top

Hatch House, George
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Gothic Revival architecture (1860). Eight gables embellished with scroll saw barge decoration and decorated woodwork on window lintels. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Old County Road, about 1/2 mile from Johnson's Grocery on the right. Pembroke
Open to the Public?: No

Responsible Organization: Private Home; Phone: 726-4734


Top

Murray-Dr. Best Home
Keywords: Architecture

Description: (Circa 1845-1850). Birthplace of two significant persons: Civil War Brevet Brig General Benjamin Bixby Murray; and Dr. Charles Best, co-discoverer of insulin. On National Register of Historic Sites. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Just beyond former location of Johnson's Grocery. Pembroke 04666
Open to the Public?: No
Dates Open: Pembroke Historical Society can provide information--possibly tour of grounds--with prior request.
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Responsible Organization: Private Home, Box 220 RR 1, Pembroke, ME 04666; Phone: 726-4734


Top

Reversing Falls Park (Cobscook Falls)
Keywords: Site

Description: Natural reversing falls, campsites, picnic area. Natural Beauty: scenic views of Cobscook Bay. Seals, eagles, and sea birds are seen here.
Location: At the south end of Leighton Point Neck. Turn towards the Post Office at Rt 214, and a short distance later, turn right at stop sign, then immediately turn left onto Leighton Neck Road. After 3.3 miles, turn right onto paved road. At the tee, turn left onto a gravel road. Continue 1.5 miles to the park. Pembroke 04666
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: All times

Responsible Organization: Town of Pembroke, Front Street, Pembroke, ME 04666; Phone: 726-4490


Top

St. John the Evangelist Roman Catholic Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The church (1855) contains its original pews. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Pembroke 04666


Top


Perry

45th Parallel Stone
Keywords: Marker

Description: Granite marker at state roadside rest stop denoting the halfway point between the Equator and the North Pole.
Location: U.S. Route 1 North, Perry 04667
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes

Responsible Organization: Town of Perry,


Top

Congregational Church (First Parish Meeting House)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Reflects Gothic Revival influence (1892). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Shore Road, Perry


Top

Genealogy Collection
Keywords: Genealogy Resource

Description: Washington County information--genealogy.
Location: Shore Road. Box 28, Perry 04667
Open to the Public?: No

Phone: 853-6630


Top

Gleason Point
Keywords: Site

Description: A point of land on Passamaquoddy Bay, with a scenic area and state boat launch.
Location: From U.S. Route 1, turn onto Shore Road at Wigwam Gift Shop, then at old red brick schoolhouse (Warren Hall) turn right; go to end of road. Perry 04667
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Items for Sale: None


Top

Warren Hall
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Brick, Greek Revival influence (1827). The first floor was used as a schoolroom until construction of the Clark School in 1952. It was used for town meetings until the late 1920s. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Shore Road, Perry 04667

Responsible Organization: Privately owned,


Top


Plantation No. 14

Bridgham House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Early New England home (1783). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Bridgham's Corner, Plantation No. 14


Top


Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Reservation

Waponahki Museum
Keywords: Museum, History Resource

Description: Passamaquoddy history and language resource center.
Location: From U.S. Route 1 in Perry, travel on Route 190 for 2 miles toward Eastport. The museum is a redwood stained building on the left in the Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Reservation. Route 190, Pleasant Point Passamaquoddy Reservation 04667
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 25
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year round. A tour guide is usually available Monday, Tuesday and 1/2 day on Wednesday, but requires a self-conducted tour on Thursday and Friday.
Hours Open: 8:30am to 11:00am-12:30pm to 3:30pm
Items for Sale: Historical Calendars, History and Language books, Handmade Baskets available across the streets
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: Yes
P.O. Box 295, Rt. 190, Perry, ME 04667 Phone: 853-4001


Top


Princeton

First Congregational Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Stylistic feature of the Victorian period of architecture (1858 and 1900). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Princeton 04668


Top


Red Beach, Calais

McGlashan-Nickerson House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Italianate style (circa 1883). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Red Beach, Calais


Top

Pettegrove House, Joshua
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Gothic Revival style (1854) 1.5 story cottage. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Red Beach, Calais


Top

St. Croix Island International Historic Site
Keywords: Marker, Site

Description: International historic site and marker. The marker is dedicated to the memory of Samuel de Champlain (1567-1635), geographer and pilot, and Sieur de Monts (1561-1630), and their crew, the first French explorers who landed on what they named St. Croix Island (also known as Dochet Island) in the St. Croix River, in June 1604. After a harsh winter, during which 35 men died of scurvy, they abandoned the site for Port Royal (now Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia). Monuments contain the names of these first European explorers. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Red Beach, Calais

Responsible Organization: United States Park Service


Top


Robbinston

Brewer House Bed and Breakfast
Keywords: Architecture

Description: (1828-1830). On National Register of Historic Places. The only Amphiprostyle Greek Revival Temple house in this part of Maine. Underground Railroad connection. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: US Route 1, Robbinston
Open to the Public?: No


Top

Grace Episcopal Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Built (circa 1875) to serve a colony of summer people, this church was founded by the Rev. Dr. Steenstra of Cambridge, Massachusetts, and has been used for summer services ever since. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Robbinston


Top

Mansion House, The
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival porch and glass-enclosed cupola (circa 1785). A fanlight over the door is engraved "1785." On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Robbinston


Top

Pike Milestones
Keywords: Marker

Description: Twelve granite mileage markers along U.S. Route 1 between Robbinston and Calais, placed there (between 1860-1870) by James Shepard Pike, who had a sumer home in Robbinston and a winter home in Calais. On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: On the east side of U.S. Route 1, at one mile intervals between the Mansion House in Robbinston and the intersection of U.S. 1 and North Street in Calais. Robbinston


Top

Pulpit Rock
Keywords: Site

Description: Interesting geological formation.
Location: Can be seen from just above the north side of Mill Cove on Route 1. It is about a 1 mile walk along the beach from the highway. Robbinston
Items for Sale: None


Top

Redclyffe Shore Motel (Henrietta Brewer House)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The "Most authentically Gothic House in eastern Maine"-- Gothic Revival (1861-1863). On National Register of Historic Places. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Robbinston


Top

Sewall Memorial Congregational Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: An example of early 20th Century Church Architecture (1913). The curch has "ribbon" stained glass windows, and has the original pulpit and furnishings from the first church, which burned, that was built here in the 1830s. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Robbinston 04628


Top


Roque Bluffs

Octagon, The
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Rustic octagonal summer cottage (1885-1887). Octagonal summer houses became popular in Maine during the late 1850s and 1860s. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Roque Bluffs


Top


St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada

St. Stephen Rural Cemetery (Civil War Burial Sites)
Keywords: Cemetery

Description: Granite Civil War stone. While not in Maine, three people with American significance are buried here. U.S. General Caldwell served as one of eight Generals Guard of Honor to escort President Abraham Lincoln's body from Washington D.C. to his last resting place. Caldwell is buried in the Murchie Lot. Not far from the General's Grave is buried Harold H. Murchie 1888-1953, Chief Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court of Maine 1949-1953, Granite Stone Monument. Also not far from the above graves is the grave of Horatio N. Young, a "Medal of Honor" recipient from the Civil War. On April 16, 1864, he was awarded the Medal of Honor " for courageous action while under severe enemy fire." A bronze Medal of Honor plaque is set in cement, in the Veterans lot by a large stone cross.
Location: Union Street, going towards Mayfield, first right after St. Stephen Drive (Truck Route). St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Open to the Public?: Yes
Dates Open: Open Year Round, foot traffic only in winter, cars allowed May - October
Hours Open: Normal Daylight Hours
Items for Sale: None

Responsible Organization: Town of St. Stephen, 34 Milltown Blvd., St. Stephen, N.B. Canada, ME E3L 1G3; Phone: 506-466-7000; Fax: 506-466-7001


Top


Steuben

Godfrey House, Ichabod
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Colonial and Greek Revival portico architecture (1792). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Spruce Street, Steuben


Top

Steuben Union Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Greek Revival architecture (1852-1853). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Stands on the Village Green near Townsley Square. Steuben


Top

Townsley House, Jacob
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Residence (1785). Townsley was an aide-de-camp to General Washington. He named the town of Steuben. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: North side of Route 1. Steuben


Top


Wesley

Wesley Town House
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Town Meetings held there since 1845. It's the oldest building left in town. Was built with hand hewn timbers.
Location: On Rt. #9 in the center of town on top of Day Hill. Wesley
Open to the Public?: No
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 40
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: none
Hours Open: none
Items for Sale: none
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: a few days
Responsible Organization: Wesley Community Church, HCR 71, Box 350, Wesley, ME 04654; Phone: 255-8526


Top


Whiting

Gunnel Rock
Keywords: Site

Description: Large Rock in Whiting Bay, has large ring on top used to keep boats upright at low tide, used in ship building trade.
Location: Whiting Bay, Whiting Village. Whiting 04691
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: All Year

Responsible Organization: Town of Whiting, Whiting, ME


Top

Lower Wharf
Keywords: Site

Description: Very old--early 1800s. Used to ship lumber, lath, etc.
Location: 1/2 mile North of Intersection of Rt. 1 and Rt. 189. Whiting 04691
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year Round
Hours Open: Anytime


Top

Township Rock
Keywords: Site

Description: Large Rock in Holmes Bay. This is the corner marker for 3 towns: Whiting, Cutler, and Machiasport.
Location: In Holmes Bay on Rt. 191 near Cutler. Rt. 191, Whiting 04691
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year round

Responsible Organization: Town of Whiting,


Top

Whiting Community Church
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Established 1836. Church was Congregational, Federated, etc.
Location: Intersection Rt. 1 and Rt. 189. Whiting 04691
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 50
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Each Sunday or by Appointment

US Rt. 1, Whiting, ME 04691


Top

Whiting Mill Dam
Keywords: Architecture

Description: Dam made of large rocks, partly faced with concrete, used by former grist mill (1816), but was first used as power for a carding mill.
Location: Intersection of Rt. 1 and Rt. 189. Whiting 04691
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year round
Hours Open: Anytime


Top

Whiting Village Cemetery
Keywords: Architecture, Cemetery

Description: Established 1805. Many war veterans are buried here--Revolutionary War, Civil War, etc.
Location: Across from Intersection of US Rt. 1 and Maine Rt. 189. Whiting 04691
Open to the Public?: Yes
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: All Year

Responsible Organization: Whiting Village Cemetery Association, Whiting, ME 04691


Top


Whitneyville

Rubicon Playhouse (Our Lady of Mercy Roman Catholic Church)
Keywords: Architecture

Description: The building (1936) is built in shape of a cross. For 33 years (1936-1969) it was served by priests from Holy Name Catholic Church in Machias. It was founded by the Sullivan Family, which owned the railroad to Machiasport. Theatre of Rubicon Players, Down River Theatre Co., and Machias High School Drama. Four musical shows each summer (Down River Theatre), four non-musical plays (including plays for children) during winters (Rubicon Players), and school plays. [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Across the street from Hillgrove Community Hall and next door to Congregational Church's parish house and two doors from the Congregational Church. Route 1-A, Whitneyville 04654
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 100
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Summer: weekend eves + Sunday Matinee Winter: weekend eves + Sunday Matinee
Hours Open: 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. evening plays + 2 to 4 p.m. Sunday matinees (afternoon)
Admission Fee?: Yes; $4.00 or $5.00 adults, discount senior citizens and children
Items for Sale: Food and Beverages. One dinner-theatre, but usually only at intermission.
Are there Photo Restrictions?: Yes
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: two weeks notice, please.
Responsible Organization: Holy Name Catholic Church, , Machias, ME 04654; Phone: 255-3731


Top

Whitneyville Congregational Church
Keywords: Architecture, Reenactment

Description: On the National Register of Historic Sites. Italianate building (1869-1875) by architect William C. Bowker. During summers, evening services include special music and reenacting of First Ladies (Martha Washington, Mary Todd Lincoln, Edith Roosevelt, etc.). [Source: In part or entirety taken from "Sunrise County Architecture," 2nd edition, 1996, with permission of Sunrise Research Institute, Inc.]
Location: Route 1-A and Washington Street, Whitneyville 04654
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 100
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: Year round on Sundays
Hours Open: Apr-Jun and Sep-Dec 25: 9 am-10 am; Jul and Aug: 7-9 pm
Items for Sale: none
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: Two week's notice, please.
Responsible Organization: Whitneyville Congregational Church, Post Office, Machias, ME 04654; Phone: 259-2088


Top

Whitneyville Public Library (Whitneyville Schoolhouse)
Keywords: Architecture, Genealogy Resource, History Resource

Description: Two-story schoolhouse (1868), genealogical resource (Washington County's Library Historical Agency). One of few existing two-room schoolhouses in Washington County. It contains records for birth, marriages, and deaths of many towns from Jonesboro west to Steuben, plus 500 books on Maine and New Brunswick history, as well as local history. (Until New Route One was built, Route 1-A was the Main Street Whitneyville. Here, a train connected Bangor with Calais via Jonesboro, Whitneyville, and Machias.)
Location: On hill, 1/2 block north of U.S. Route 1-A. Whitneyville 04654
Open to the Public?: Yes
Quantity Site can Accommodate: 20
Bus Tours Welcome?: Yes
Dates Open: All year round - Closed Fridays, Sunday and 10 legal holidays.
Hours Open: Mon, Wed: 1-4 and 7-9pm; Tue, Thur: 1 to 4 pm; Sat: 1-3 pm
Items for Sale: June-September : Whatnot Craft Shop sells local crafts, foods, and "nearly new" books. (2nd floor; books and crafts)
Is there a Host(ess) Available?: No
Advance Notice Required: With two weeks notice, one of the Librarians or Trustees will host/ guide
Responsible Organization: Whitneyville Library Association Inc., PO Box 478, Machias, ME 04654; Phone: 255-8077


Top


[Made with Macintosh]

Grant & Webpage Author:
Old Sow Publishing

P.O. Box 222
Eastport, ME 04631
(207)853-2922